Concert: Wilco, Yo La Tengo

•headline: Wilco
•support: Yo La Tengo
2010, July 30th
South Bend, Indiana
Coveleski Stadium


>> Yo La Tengo setlist
~19:00
01 Autumn Sweater
02 More Stars Than There Are In Heaven
03 Stockholm Syndrome
04 The Weakest Part
05 Mr. Tough
06 Here To Fall
07 For The Turnstiles [Neil Young cover]
08 Periodically Double Or Triple
09 Nothing To Hide
10 Sugarcube
11 Pass Me The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind
~20:03

>> Wilco setlist
~20:32
01 Sunken Treasure [with harmonica]
02 Ashes Of American Flags
03 Either Way
04 I Am Trying To Break Your Heart
05 Bull Black Nova
06 You Are My Face
07 One Wing
08 Company In My Back
09 A Shot In The Arm
10 Side With The Seeds
11 She’s A Jar
12 Say You Miss Me
13 Impossible Germany
14 Forget The Flowers
15 I’ll Fight
16 Box Full Of Letters
17 Handshake Drugs
18 Jesus, Etc. [crowd singalong]
19 Can’t Stand It
20 You Never Know
21 Heavy Metal Drummer
22 Walken
23 I’m The Man Who Loves You

24 Encore Break #1
25 Broken Arrow [Buffalo Springfield cover]
26 Airline To Heaven
27 The Late Greats
28 Red-Eyed And Blue>
29 I Got You

30 Encore Break #2
31 Thank You Friends [Big Star cover with Yo La Tengo]
~22:57

I saw a truck spewing black fumes from multiple areas as it traveled at high speeds: I immediately thought that I was approaching a reaver ship.  Also, I-94 is the 8 Mile Road of highways.  All along the highway, I saw strip clubs and adult superstores with advertisements reading “LION’S DEN ADULT SUPERSTORE: NEXT EXIT”, where anyone could make innuendos.  Beautiful forests fill the scenery of I-69, and I would drive it again since it’s so empty; unfortunately, it only leads to Fort Wayne, and I’m not driving there.

I met some nice people while waiting in line realized they’re fellow VCers (Via Chicago).  And as soon as the gates opened, we ran in for front row, met with success (front center, just a feet towards stage right)!  Later, I even discovered that I had talked to some of them online.  I met Matt, his fiance Cathy, Courtney, and Kevin.  Apparently, I’ve talked with Kevin online previously, but we had not met in person.

Kevin asked “what’s your name on VC?”
I replied “I’m Augurus.”
“You’re Augurus!?  You’re a legend!”
“I’m a legend?!”
“YEAH!!!  You’re the one who posts those great comments and oh hey, you know Jesusetc!”
Camaraderie rituals ensued.
What the deuce?

All parties bewildered, I noticed several people fall to dehydration and some unfriendly scuffles brewing faster than usual.  Security had to involve the police.  Finally, scattered drizzles of rain storms during the concert enlightened the show.

We received an awesome set from Yo La Tengo.  They stuck with a variety plate and showcased their capabilities except for James McNew’s singing.  Ira forgot about Mr. Tough’s fake ending, which was very amusing to fans, but most of the spectators had thought the song already ended.  Yo La Tengo dedicated For The Turnstiles to the late Ben Keith.  Then they proceeded to destroy our ears with the rest of the set which culminated in the muscular and thunderous Pass Me The Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind.

Wilco also started with a harmonica and a lap-steel which started Sunken Treasure.  The ending has never sounded the stronger and the audience has never sound more excited than today.  The singing in I Am Trying To Break Your Heart resonated loudly and Jeff noticed immediately.  Rarities such as She’s A Jar and Say You Miss Me appeared.  Jeff deferred to omission of certain chorus lines in Say You Miss Me as a way to defend his mouth from pigeon droppings.  This is a clear reference to a problem at the Verizon Amphitheater where pigeons attacked Kings Of Leon and previous opening bands with constant defecation.  Nonetheless, everyone participated in the multi-vocal harmonies.  Jesus, Etc.’s crowd sing-along went pretty smoothly.  The audience goaded Glenn Kotche into jumping into the drums to start off I’m The Man Who Loves You.  Later, Wilco returned with the a sprawling psychedelic Buffalo Springfield cover, Broken Arrow.  The band omitted Kicking Television and tore through I Got You to end another set.   The band returned with Yo La Tengo after another break to sing the Big Star cover Thank You Friends to end the evening on a heartwarming note.  The omission of several staples including Hummingbird, At Least That’s What You Said, Spiders, and Hate It Here comes with one off shows!  Hooray!

When I tried to leave the state, I discovered that a big accident occurred near the entrance of the toll road, so I had to find another toll road entrance.  Furthermore, the toll road’s website claimed all service plazas would have free wi-fi; they lied.

Regardless, I haven’t had this much fun in quite a long time.  I haven’t felt this happy in quite a long time.

♫ Something in my veins, BLOODIER THAN BLOOD! ♫

About pathosengine

I martellato the slur.
This entry was posted in concerts, trip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment